Applications for Shell Springboard will open on Monday 26th September 2016, and close on Friday 28th October 2016 at 5pm. A total funding amount of £350,000 will be available in 2017.

Successful applicants will be shortlisted for two regional finals, meeting judging panels in Aberdeen and Cambridge in March 2017.

At each event, three regional winners will be awarded funding of £40,000 each. These six regional winners will then go forward to the national final, which will be held in London in May 2017. At this showpiece event, one business will be crowned the national winner of Shell Springboard 2017.

This business will then receive additional funding of £110,000 – meaning that the overall national winner of Shell Springboard 2017 will receive a total of £150,000 of no-strings-attached funding to help scale up its low-carbon innovation.


What are we looking for?

Any UK-registered SME can apply, but it is important to remember that your application MUST meet the three core Shell Springboard criteria – namely that your business idea:

  • Will reduce carbon emissions;
  • Is commercially viable;
  • Demonstrates one or more innovative elements.

Applications will also be assessed on their broader social impact. Please see the FAQs for more detail on these criteria, and have a look at our previous winners to see what types of businesses have benefited from the Shell Springboard programme.


How is it judged?

Once the deadline has passed, all applications will be assessed. This is a three-stage process carried out by Verco, an independent, specialist climate change and sustainability consultancy with a 25-year track record in low-carbon technologies and business support.

The businesses shortlisted for the two regional events will meet expert and independent judging panels, with a range of expertise from across the low-carbon sector.

Regional winners proceeding to the national finals in London in May 2017 will meet another expert panel of independent judges, who will ultimately select the overall national winner.